What I’m working on now–The Next Best Thing

For a bit of fun, I’m taking a break from the history blogging to do a little writing-themed post.

Fellow author Sharon Robards tagged me for the online game The Next Big Thing: A blog  circle where authors have a chance to discuss their current works in progress/ what they’re currently working on now.

Next Big Thing:

What is your working title of your book?

Channing.

Where did the idea come from for the book? 

The idea for this story started a long time ago with a picture (this one). Somehow, that combined with images created by Fanny Kemble’s Residence on a Georgia Plantation to become a story of duels, slavery, and betrayal in the Antebellum South.

What genre does your book fall under? 

Historical Fiction.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I want new faces, actors who aren’t associated yet with anything. I also would want someone who’s actually young to play my younger characters.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A duel between Caroline’s brother and his old friend rearranges the lives of everyone involved–until they all come together again on a plantation in Georgia.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Represented by an agent and published by a big house if I can swing it!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m still working on it. It’s going on two years now, but the end is in sight.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Hm, that’s tough. I wouldn’t want to venture, though I’ve heard my style is somewhat similar to Michelle Moran.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? 

Definitely Fanny Kemble’s Residence. It was such a unique read. It isn’t often you hear an Englishwoman’s first-hand experiences of slavery. She did a lovely job evoking the South–especially the weather and the land–even if I don’t think she ever quite understood it.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? 

There’s a romance at the core of it, if that interests anyone.

 

I’ve tagged these writers to join in the game!

I hope to tag some people soon, but I might not get a chance. I’m going out of state.

Message for the tagged authors and interested others:

Your post should be up by Tuesday of next week–(11/13) Tuesday 13th November.  I hope you all have fun with this, and thanks for joining me.  I’ve pasted the “rules” below: Please tune into these blogs the week of November Tuesday 13th November and check out their posts!

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged.

Rules of the Next Big Thing

***Use this format for your post
***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress)
***Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

 

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:
What is your working title of your book?
Where did the idea come from for the book?
What genre does your book fall under?
Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Who or what inspired you to write this book?
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

 

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged.

While you’re waiting for those new posts next week, be sure to visit Colby Marshall who tagged me, as well as any other participants in The Next Big Thing.  Have questions about my current work in progress, Four Nails and The Elephant Boy?  Feel free to leave them in the comments!

Leave a comment