A Programming Note

It’s been some time since I’ve updated here, which is entirely my fault. I can’t even beg the excuse of being too busy. I can, however, say that I’ve had distractions.

April will prove to turn up a wealth of material for this site, though. I will be in Paris for 3 days and will be making stops at the Rue du Jour (Nicole d’Oliva’s home), the Rue St Gilles (where the La Mottes lived), the Palais-Royal (where Nicole, ahem, worked), the Palais de Justice (where the lot of the them were tried and Jeanne was flogged and branded), and the Grove of Venus at Versailles. I shall return with a million pictures (I almost said bajillion but thought that might sound childish) and lots of information.

On April Fool’s Day, I’ll be going to see Alison Wier talk at the Tower of London. It’s not directly related to the Affair of the Necklace, but as she is a well-known nonfiction writer and has made forays into historical fiction, I’ll write back a report here.

I also went back to the Victoria and Albert Museum and got some more pictures of 18th century textiles. Enjoy a few more photos:

Brocaded silk, 1760's, probably French

Brocaded silk, probably French.

Leave a Reply

